Yellow: Race in America Beyond Black and White

Type
Book
Authors
ISBN 10
046500640X 
ISBN 13
9780465006403 
Category
Unknown  [ Browse Items ]
Edition
Reprint 
Publication Year
2003 
Publisher
Pages
416 
Abstract
 
Description
Writing in the tradition of W. E. B. Du Bois, Cornel West, and others who confronted the "color line" of the twentieth century, journalist, scholar, and activist Frank H. Wu offers a unique perspective on how changing ideas of racial identity will affect race relations in the twenty-first century. Wu examines affirmative action, globalization, immigration, and other controversial contemporary issues through the lens of the Asian-American experience. Mixing personal anecdotes, legal cases, and journalistic reporting, Wu confronts damaging Asian-American stereotypes such as "the model minority" and "the perpetual foreigner." By offering new ways of thinking about race in American society, Wu's work dares us to make good on our great democratic experiment. - from Amzon 
Biblio Notes
 
Number of Copies

REVIEWS (0) -

No reviews posted yet.

WRITE A REVIEW

Please login to write a review.